A MinD in MoTown


Video Killed the Radio Star: Part 1

“Become a radio DJ” was never in my set of goals. To be honest, it was never even something I remotely considered … until Monday.

After repeatedly hearing radio advertisements for a new AM Mayhem DJ with Charlotte’s 96.1 The Beat, I finally caved that morning and checked out the details of the contest. A few pictures? No problem. Some information about yours truly? Piece of cake. A three-minute video resume? Uh oh.

Sophie and my supplies.

But I brainstormed anyway, trying to think of an idea that might get my video noticed above the rest. Then I remembered Belle Renee‘s amazing 20-something bloggers vlog and I knew exactly what to do. After a quick email to her making sure it was okay that I stole her idea – thanks lady!! – I spent $15 on ten sheets of posterboard, three glue sticks and a ten-pack of Crayola markers, realizing that I just signed up for an unexpected weeklong project.

I chose a song that afternoon to accompany my on-tape silliness – big thanks to Pham his guidance and for steering me away from the four music-media moguls – and waited for the end-of-work bell to toll.

With a rough script in hand, I started later that evening, cutting the posterboard into fourths and writing out the first few cue cards (which I ended up redoing Wednesday night). Sophie tried to help, but kept mistaking the markers for chew toys so her services were no longer needed. I worked on the cards a bit more Wednesday night – a 13-hour work day on Tuesday hindered my progress – and I have a few more to fill out tonight before my digital camera and I make our finished product (which I’ll be sure to post).

Of course I didn't buy the "washable" markers.

A few glitches, such as my inability to edit said video and my camera’s issues with voice matching up with mouth movements, led my three-minute segment in this direction and I’m crossing my fingers that I don’t look like a complete fool once it’s done. A beer or two prior to hitting record just might be necessary to shake these jitters.

But onward and upward I go. Am I finding myself to be serious competition for this on-air gig? Not really. Aside from that I entirely lack radio experience, a lot of these candidates – because yes, everyone’s video is posted on 96.1’s Web site – have a charisma that I’m not too sure I can call my own. But this journey certainly makes for a good story and it’s a bit fun to do something on a whim and hope for the best.

Now to head home and wrap this thing up. Stay tuned for Part 2 and wish me luck!

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

From what I’ve heard on the radio, the trick to being a good radio personality is, not surprisingly, to have an awesome personality. And you clearly have that taken care of hands down.
I do however, think you’re a little to pretty for radio. =P Most people on the radio around here, are on the radio because nobody would want to see them.

Either way, best of luck!!!!

Comment by Patrick

um, yeah I could give you a whole novel on the painful experience of editing video content. glad you survived that ordeal.

GOOD LUCK!! it would be so awesome if you won this because then I would have a good reason to listen to the radio!!

Comment by thatShortChick

How exciting! I’d love to see the video when it’s done.

Comment by Ashley

you have no idea how excited i am about the result

Comment by phampants

Good luck! I can’t wait for part 2. Also, I thought your dog was chewing on a cigarette. I need to take my contacts out 🙂

Comment by Jessica

This is so fun! I can’t wait to see the video!

Comment by Akirah

hurry up and post the video.

Comment by Matt

Good luck! I hope you get it! And I so wanna see this video!:)

Comment by andhari




Leave a Reply

