A MinD in MoTown


Who doesn’t love a Hallmark holiday?
February 13, 2009, 1:02 pm
Filed under: $10 is too much for a movie, VDay

As odd as this is going to sound, I’m fairly certain the marketing/planning powers behind “Confessions of a Shopaholic” are geniuses. To take a film that undoubtedly looks a bit ridiculous and open it on Valentine’s Day weekend? It’s an absolutely brilliant ploy to bring in more bodies, thus revenue, to a movie that may have otherwise completely flopped.

confessionsofashopaholic_galleryposter

Although I’m certain “Confessions” was not as highly anticipated as “Sex and the City” or even the week-old “He’s Just Not That Into You,” I’m sure at least some minor buzz was created among the female population. And had this movie opened in July, for example, you’d find girls clinging to one another to go see it as their boyfriends resiliently refused to spend even a moment in the theatre watching some seemingly helpless “shopaholic” get a job and fall in love. That’s at least half of the population already disregarding the movie, with some obvious exceptions, of course.

But because it’s opening today, the day before VDay and the start of a three-day weekend filled with romantic gestures, I’m willing to put cold, hard cash down that a good number of fellas will be in attendance … and not simply because Isla Fisher is pretty damn hot.

isla-fisher

Can you believe she's engaged to Sacha Baron Cohen!?

I can only imagine all the men getting suckered into seeing “Confessions” as they beg their girlfriends to see “Friday the 13th” instead.

GF: But it’s Valentine’s Day. Don’t you want to make me happy?
BF: Wouldn’t you rather cuddle up as Jason murders people?

Sorry boys, it’s just not going to work this particular weekend and all attempts will be in vain as you shell out $30+ – cause naturally the girlfriend will want some salty or chocolately treat – for 1 hour/45 minutes of pure girly torture, as Touchstone Pictures racks in anywhere between $8 and $20 per ticket.

The marketing/planning team for “Confessions” most definitely knew what they were doing as they scheduled a Feb. 13 launch. Without question, this one lovey-dovey holiday will bring in a huge audience they otherwise would have lost and major kudos must be awarded to this brilliant tactic. 

Personally, I’d choose the slasher flick… Happy Valentine’s Day folks!


15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hahahahah! I’m way too nice of a girlfriend to ever force my boyfriend to see “Confessions of a Shopaholic,” “He’s Just Not that Into You,” or SATC. Not to toot my own horn or anything…I’m just saying. We’ll probably end up watching TLC and eating some chicken. And making out. I hope.

Hopefully you skipped the TLC and went straight for making out…

Comment by Akirah

I am so with you on the slasher flick. I’m not a big VDay fan. It’s all a bunch of Hallmark manipulation, if you ask me.

And as for “Confessions,” I’m “Really Just Not That Into It.”

While I agree it’s very much “Hallmark manipulation,” I’m a sucker for flowers and a box of candy. Sometimes I’m a super lame girly girl.

Comment by Tristan|the almost right word

I guess I’m not that girly because I would totally rather see Jason than COAS.

Confessions just looks stupid regardless, if you ask me. I at least was interested in seeing SATC, but I’ll pass on this one even when it reaches DVD (in about two months).

Comment by Dutchess of Kickball

I was dragged to go see Sex & The City over the summer and all ready promised I would go see “Confessions” with her if she wanted. But all is well for several reasons.

1) Like I said on twitter, I get cuddle time out of it. Sex is also very likely. Which is always a wonderful thing.

2) We’re going to see the slasher flick right before.

So all in all, I don’t mind in the slightest.

A little bit of give, a little bit of receive. It seemingly equals itself out for you.

Comment by Kendall

such geniusness. Nope, nope, the men might not have a say in it 😀

The movie came in 4th this weekend, so clearly they did not. Ha.

Comment by andhari

I totally want to see this movie, and they are complete geniuses for opening it this weekend. Though I’m surprised that they didn’t release He’s Just Not That Into You this weekend as well, mainly because from what I’ve heard it sucks, and word of mouth is everything. Now that people say it sucked, I have no desire to see it. At least not until it comes out in torrent form when I can download it for free.

btw–I love your blog. It’s worth reading every post.

Awwwww! That is probably one of the best compliments I’ve received since I started my blog, and one I very much needed to hear read. Thank you. =)

Comment by Heather

I would choose the slasher flick too! There’s nothing more romantic than getting scared shitless and having to cuddle for protection.

Exactly! Plus, then both of you get something out of the movie, as opposed to a one-sided evening with a chick flick.

Comment by Megkathleen

Friday the 13th has so much nudity in it that I might have to leave the theater at points.

To get popcorn.

Get your mind out of the gutter.

Popcorn, huh? Is that what the kids are calling it these days?

Comment by rs27

After living in LA for two years and learning what very little I DID see of the entertainment industry, I guarantee you this was 100 percent intentional. It’s not all that surprising, considering there is an entire industry devoted to planning things like this. Smart move!

Glad to see someone else (with more entertainment industry experience) agrees that it was very intentional planning.

Comment by hautepocket

I must have lucked out, because the girl I took out last night preferred Jason over that shopaholic!

That you did!

Comment by omegaradium

oh the things I would do to Isla Fisher…

I bet you could take Borat on, too. That’s a fight I’d be willing to watch on YouTube, for sure.

Comment by Matt

I really want to see this movie, but I had to take my friend to see Slumdog Millionaire for her first time … and my fourth. I’ll catch it this weekend though.

Let me know if it’s actually any good. I don’t know anyone who has seen it, but my expectations for it aren’t very high.

Comment by thismayconcernyou

Yeah, I don’t think I would ever force my boy to watch something like that. He’d kill me. But he wouldn’t want to go see the slasher flick (because we’re both wimps.) So maybe we would end up in Confessions by default? Hrm.

You always have the probably not at all funny option, “Paul Blart, Mall Cop” or something like that…

Comment by E.P.

She once walked right by me in a hallway once at a studio.

My knees weakened and I nearly collapsed.

She is pretty damn gorgeous. My knees might even have weakened, ha.

Comment by so@24

The style of writing is very familiar. Have you written guest posts for other blogs?

Not really. I participated in a blog swap last year, but that’s about it. That’s odd that it’s familiar. Haven’t heard that before.

Comment by Liza




Leave a comment