A MinD in MoTown


Sooner or later.

I’m not exactly the type of girl to have every moment of every day pre-planned. It’s actually rare for me to have plans whatsoever. And I certainly don’t mind living by the seat of my pants sometimes. However, when it comes to big-ticket items – events, holidays, milestones, deadlines for much-needed information, etc. – I prefer things written in stone well in advance.

One thing I practically loathe is the word “soon.” How vague is “soon”? And by whose definition does that follow? Because, as I have learned time and time again – including this most recent stint as I await a vital email from my graduate program coordinator – my perception of “soon” is clearly quite truncated from the designation of others.

What fairly-vague terms do you hate, and why? “Soon” is definitely high on my list!

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think “interesting” is my least favorite vague word. It sounds these days like more of an insult than anything else.

Comment by Ashley

I never thought of “interesting” that way, but you could be right… And I say it a lot! Uh oh.

Comment by amindinmotown

I use “kinda sorta really” a lot… or various variations of it.

Comment by Erini

“soon” is vague and i agree with ashley that “interesting” is vague too. I really hate, “maybe” because it just sounds like the person is stalling.

Comment by Jessica

definitely agree with the use of interesting but ‘soon’ really grates on my nerves because I’m like you, I NEED SPECIFICS. especially during this time of job applications/interviews/followups.

Comment by thatShortChick

Exactly!!! I’m waiting for an email that tells me what classes to schedule for the fall. I want to schedule them NOW so I know what to expect, but the email I’d receive “soon” still hasn’t arrived. Ugh.

Comment by amindinmotown

I hate “soon” too. As well as “next” which should be pretty specific, but usually isn’t intended that way.

Comment by Ronnica

Arguably, arguably is one such word.

Comment by [F]oxymoron

Really? Hm… Not sure I see how that is.

Comment by amindinmotown

“We’ll see” — remember being a kid and hearing your parents saying that after asking them something? I still hate that term!

Comment by Stephany

Oooo, that’s a good one!

Comment by amindinmotown

“Soon” is really vague. That paired with “I’ll call you” is even more of a bitch :p

Comment by andhari

Ooo, “I’ll call you.” Especially ambiguous in the dating world.

Comment by amindinmotown




Leave a Reply

