A MinD in MoTown


37 years.
February 1, 2010, 5:02 pm
Filed under: Passing the word along

I had intended on writing this blog post nearly ten days ago, but the thought kept escaping my brain just as I’d wander over to the Internet. But, better late than never…

Jan. 22 of this year marked the 37th anniversary of one of the most controversial court decisions in our nation’s history: Roe v. Wade.

It was on that day in 1973 that abortions became legal throughout this country, dismissing any previously held state or federal regulations regarding the procedure. And that specific court-case determination has ruled abortion policies for nearly four decades.

…37 years, and yet some people seriously believe that this “fundamental right” will become overturned some day? I find that baffling.

As an individual who very strongly supports a woman’s right to choose, I simply wanted to make note of this anniversary.

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m baffled by it too. Thanks for sharing this.

Comment by Jessica

A recent Supreme Court ruling made it legal for Supreme Court Justices to overturn previous rulings that weren’t unanimous. This paves the way toward potentially being able to overturn this very important decision, where previously it was illegal to amend rulings of the past.

Also, women’s rights was not a unanimous decision…

Comment by OmegaRadium

No part of me thinks this will be overturned – and women’s rights surely won’t be. I guess I find issue with people bringing religious values to the abortion argument. Once you leave faith out of it, I can’t see any reason to deny the right to choose.

Comment by amindinmotown

One thing I like about you, whether I agree with you or not, is that you know who you are and what you believe. That is something to be admired.

Comment by Akirah

That was very sweet of you to say, especially because I know your stance on this issue is different than my own. Thank you. Very much, thank you.

Comment by amindinmotown

Actually, I’m not too sure how I feel on this issue. I’m a flip flopper. I guess that’s why I admire your firm self-awareness.

Comment by Akirah

Ohhhh, okay. I thought you were on the pro-life side. I think my assumption came from a comment you left on another blog I read some time ago… Sorry I assumed wrongly hun!

Comment by amindinmotown

you’re right, the thought of this ruling being overturned is BAFFLING and down right sarah palin-crazy.

but I can’t believe it’s only been 37 years?! wow.

Comment by thatShortChick

It seems like much longer than that, I know. But really, 37 years is a strong dent in society, making it that much more difficult for it to be overturned.

Comment by amindinmotown

It’s probably my favorite anniversary. B should’ve taken me out for that instead of our own. 😉

Comment by LiLu

Not a bad idea. I’ll have to suggest that to my boyfriend next year.

Comment by amindinmotown

i VERY strongly support a woman’s right to choose as well.

Comment by alexa - cleveland's a plum

Thank you for posting this and supporting our right to choose! I’m glad you made note of this. It cannot be said enough.

Comment by Kimwithak




Leave a Reply

