A MinD in MoTown


Some oldies this Foto Friday.
October 2, 2009, 3:50 pm
Filed under: Artsy fartsy photos

The purchase of my “new” (as in not-so-new anymore) camera several months ago coincided with my first, and thus far only, trip to Chapel Hill, NC, the home to the University of North Carolina.

After a day full of journalism-related courses, including one on the topic of photojourn, I decided to wander around campus and take in the sights. It wasn’t until I stumbled upon the Coker Arboretum, filled with beautiful flowers, vines and trees, that I pulled out my camera and starting snapping away.

So here are a few shots and – as always – complaints, criticism and comments are both welcome and appreciated! But keep in mind that the photos are a few months old now and I’ve, optimistically, grown a bit as a photographer since then.

These flowers were everywhere. I'd name it, if I knew what it was called.

These flowers were everywhere. I'd name it, if I knew what it was called.

Love this.

Love this.

Decent...

Decent...

How awesome is that tree? That's the only reason this photo was included. Ha.

How awesome is that tree? That's the only reason this photo was included. Ha.

I really only like the way the sun shone through here.

I really only like the way the sun shone through here.

Something about these little statues in the window caught my eye.

Something about these little statues in the window caught my eye.

Ahh, yellow.

Ahh, yellow.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

These are beautiful pictures. I love yellow roses. So pretty.

I saw those roses and was completely amazed by them. They were so beautiful.

Comment by Akirah

UNC has such a gorgeous campus. triple love the yellow roses!

It was a lovely campus, though easy to get lost on! Ha. Hopefully I can go back some day and look around some more.

Comment by thatShortChick

I like the second picture the most, the lights hit the trees so beautifully 🙂 great job, girlie!

Thanks hun. I loved that one for the same reason.

Comment by Andhari

Oh my gosh, the top view of the trees with the lights streaming in is amazing. Perfect.

Aw, thanks!! =)

Comment by Jessica

I likes. Especially the one w/ the leaning tree. The treetops one would be really cool in grayscale too. It’d make a nice desktop.

Good point. I never change any of my photos. I actually don’t even own a program to do so. I just kind of share them as they were originally taken.

Comment by TOPolk

These are great. And yellow roses are my favorite kind of roses! I particularly like the second one…it reminds me of so much all at once.

I love when a photo can evoke memories or feelings, so yay, so awesome to hear that one of mind was reminding you of things. Very kewl.

Comment by Kimwithak

My favorite is the second one. But wow, is that tree really that slanted? I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like that. It’s like nature’s tower of Pisa.

I was amazed that this tree could be so slanted, yet appear perfectly healthy. It was beautiful to look at.

Comment by Marie




Leave a Reply

