A MinD in MoTown


Time again for “Foto Friday.”
September 18, 2009, 4:48 pm
Filed under: Artsy fartsy photos

One week ago this moment, I was at the Outer Banks of North Carolina, readying to head back to the Charlotte area. My short vacation was much-needed, but unfortunately plagued by rain for the only full day I had at the beach, Thursday.

I didn’t let it stop me from wandering among the debris left behind by some high, ferocious waves and snapping a ton of photos. I also tried to take a few more when the clouds and showers finally departed on Friday, making way for some sunshine.

Here’s just a sample of the hundreds of pictures I took. As always, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

The waves were so violent that they'd leave behind foam all over the beach.

The waves were so violent that they'd leave behind foam all over the beach.

This might look like a small stick, but no. It was an eight-foot log that washed ashore.

This might look like a small stick, but no. It was an eight-foot log that washed ashore.

A little hazy - I hadn't realized the rain made my lens fog - but I like it anyway.

A little hazy - I hadn't realized the rain made my lens fog - but I like it anyway.

By far, my favorite photo I've EVER taken.

By far, my favorite photo I've EVER taken.

My boyfriend's initials ... and me being a huge dork.

My boyfriend's initials ... and me being a huge dork.

This is actually the first day, Wednesday, and the waves were already huge.

This is actually the first day, Wednesday, and the waves were already huge.

My feet created those two lines.

My feet created those two lines.

The contrast of ocean to sky is gorgeous.

The contrast of ocean to sky is gorgeous.

Also adore this photo. I found the black shell on the beach and decided to play with it a bit.

Also adore this photo. I found the black shell on the beach and decided to play with it a bit.

15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I was wondering when you were going to share your beach pictures for a foto friday. Again, it sucks that you had such sucky weather for your vacay but at least you were able to get away!

I LOVE beach pictures so I think they’re all great but the last picture with the tiny black shell is my favorite. I love the juxtaposition of the small shell against the vast area of the sandy beach.

Sure, the crappy weather was a downfall, but at least I attempted to make a positive out of it!

Comment by thatShortChick

So pretty! I love the beach. These pictures really make me want to go to one now. I like the picture with the initials. I bet your boyfriend really appreciated that one. 😉

He so thinks I’m a huge dork, but it’s okay. I bet he at least smiled about it.

Comment by Akirah

All of these photo’s are so beautiful! I love them. I attempt to do photography but it never turns out half as good. The crappy weather seemed to work, though! You got some very great pictures from it!

I tried for a long time, and everything seemed crappy. Then I had a brief one-session photography class and it changed my perspective, which then changed how I took photos. If not for that, I probably wouldn’t experiment so much with photography.

Comment by Stephany

Wow they look pretty! I like the one when you create two lines with your feet. It’s like the water chasing you down 🙂

Ps. Living in the tropic all my life I’ve never seen a beach like this, on cool weather and everything. It’s always sunny and hot with the beaches here.

You’ve never seen a crappy beach day? You should go when it’s raining or there’s a storm brewing. It’s such a different atmosphere. Sure, you can’t sunbathe or anything, but it’s beautiful in its own way.

Comment by Andhari

i love those pictures! esp the initials in the sand! classsiccc 🙂 (i totally do that too lol)

I don’t think I ever did it before. I was feeling especially lovey-dovey I guess!

Comment by novelista barista

Those pictures make me want to visit the other coast! Lovely.

Ah, I’ve always wanted to visit the west coast. I hear they are so different. I’d just love to see it for myself.

Comment by Ashley

I love these so much, especially your favorite and the first one. So lovely.

I want to go to the beach now…

Then go! Take three days and soak up some sun. It was a much-needed break and I’m so glad I did it.

Comment by E.P.

beautiful photos!

Thank you!

Comment by Melissa

I love the beach shot with the posts from the fence. Looks AMAZING. Such a postcard

It does look like a postcard. Ha. And a computer desktop photo, too (which it is for me now).

Comment by Jessica

definitely like the first and last the best. i think you should try exploring abstracts more because you’re good at it!

Well thank you. I am trying to. It’s a slow-go though.

Comment by floreta

Great pictures! I don’t tend to take too many at the beach, but I do take mental ones!

When on vacation, I usually take more photos with friends and going out. But this time, it was the complete opposite, mostly because I was so intrigued by the weather and how it transformed the beach.

Comment by Ronnica

I love these pictures! Especially the one at the end with the black shell. It looks like the horizon goes on forever.

When that last photo came out well, I was so very giddy about it. Glad you like it, too!

Comment by Kimwithak

These are great MinD!!

I wanna go to the beach… even if it’s overcast…

I probably won’t go ’til next summer, but if I do, I’ll pass along an invite!

Comment by Erini CS

I looooove them all especially the dorky one? 😉
and the seashell…I want to be there!

Outer Banks of North Carolina. Seriously one of the most beautiful places I’ve been to. The beaches are fabulous (of course, I’ve never been anywhere but the East Coast, so my opinions are limited).

Comment by Felicia

LOVE the photos – esp the fence one that’s your favorite. GOOD WORK, LADY!!!

Thanks hun! You also just confused me. I was thinking, “another Mindy!?” But yay, it’s you, and a new food blog? Fun!!

Comment by mindy




Leave a Reply

