A MinD in MoTown


Feeling like a “Foto Friday.”
August 7, 2009, 4:45 pm
Filed under: Artsy fartsy photos

That’s right, it’s time for another “Foto Friday.” Several pictures today and these were taken at a local quarry during a newspaper assignment I was on. The area – which I’d previously never seen – was too beautiful to ignore and snapping some photos was almost necessary. Some of these are more news-y (not a word, I know) and others veer toward artsy.

As always, share any constructive criticism and let me know what you think!

This kid was too cute and he kept flexing like that whenever I aimed the camera toward him.

This kid was too cute and he kept flexing like that whenever I aimed the camera toward him.

s 029

Decent photo. Just decent though.

s 033

This one was used in the paper.

I wanted to include one of the kids jumping.

I wanted to include one of the kids jumping.

Moving a little more artsy fartsy, ha. But I love this photo.

Moving a little more artsy fartsy, ha. But I love this photo.

The life preserver made for a few fun pictures.

The life preserver made for a few fun pictures.

On the fence - no pun intended - about what I think of this one.

On the fence - no pun intended - about what I think of this one.

A tree on the walk away from the quarry.

A tree on the walk away from the quarry.

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love that tree in the middle of the path. It’s all “What? WHAT?! This is where I want to be, man!”

Ha. I am pretty sure they built the path around the tree, and that’s what I loved. That there was something so beautiful about this particular tree that they let it stay.

Comment by LiLu

ok, the kid flexing? TOO ADORABLE FOR WORDS. and I love the last two.

That kid was totally awesome. He was deaf, but it didn’t stand in the way of him being completely playful.

Comment by thatShortChick

My top 3 are the one with the lifeguard’s back, the second life preserver and the defiant tree on the path. Nice shots!

Thank you. I thought the lifeguard one was great for the newspaper, but unfortunately my editor didn’t feel the same way… Oh well.

Comment by Sarah

Oh, that water looks gorgeous. Highly jealous.

It was seriously the most beautiful place I’ve seen in this town, hands down.

Comment by Jill Pilgrim

Oooh prettyyy! You know in my dad’s hometown in the western part of Indonesia, they have something like this as well? Such a beautiful small town with kids just having fun and jump to the water:) you took beautiful photos.

I always knew places like this existed, but I had never seen one before. I was super happy to finally be there.

Comment by Andhari

I really like the fence one. The lines are unique, but pull your eye all over the place. Good photos sweetie! All of em.

Thanks, although I’m not sure what “pull your eye all over the place” means… =/

Comment by Lost Artist

cool photos…i wonder how it would look like in black and white!

I never thought to try. Maybe I’ll have to.

Comment by dalipstickbandit

I love your Foto Fridays. My favorite this round was the first one with the life preserver. The one of the fence is pretty great too. Very nice!

Thanks. The life preserver was my favorite, too.

Comment by hautepocket

these are great! the tree in the middle of the path is pretty random, but funny.

and that kid with the muscles? i love him.

He was seriously an awesome kid. I have probably 10 photos of him all together, ha.

Comment by alexa - cleveland's a plum

The first one is seriously adorable!

I really like the first one of the life preserver too.

The life preserver one is quickly becoming one of my favorite self-taken photos. Thanks for the comments!

Comment by Jamie

I particularly love the first picture. Sooo cute!

Thanks! =)

Comment by Paula

looks like lots of fun!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was certainly a great work assignment.

Comment by novelista barista




Leave a Reply

