A MinD in MoTown


A slightly late “Foto Friday.”
July 11, 2009, 12:16 am
Filed under: Artsy fartsy photos

It’s been a few weeks since I attempted another “Foto Friday,” so here’s a few shots from the nearby amusement park, Carowinds. I mostly snapped pictures of rollercoasters because, clearly, they are the most riveting ride at the park, but there’s a couple others as well (though not many as I was too busy riding DropZone five times and frolicking around with my boyfriend, ha).

As always, constructive criticism muchly appreciated – especially from you professional photographers lurking out there!

I'm not totally in love with this picture, but it had some good qualities to it.

I'm not totally in love with this picture, but it had some good qualities to it.

I don't know why, but this is, by far, my fave photo of the day.

I don't know why, but this is, by far, my fave photo of the day.

I didn't ride this coaster (because it went backwards), so I had ample time to snap away as my boyfriend rode it.

I didn't ride this coaster (because it went backwards), so I had ample time to snap away as my boyfriend rode it.

Decent-ish picture, but I had to include it. This is DropZone and I loved this ride.

Decent-ish picture, but I had to include it. This is DropZone and I loved this ride.

Sweet, sweet sustenance. Yuengling. Mmm.

Sweet, sweet sustenance. Yuengling. Mmm.

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Drop Zone is THE ride. We have one at Kings Island, our nearest amusement park. Nothing can beat it.

It was exhilirating! And from the top, you could see the Charlotte skyline, which made it that much better.

Comment by James

I’m weird. Rollercoasters fascinate me yet I’m too scared to ride it. I only did it 4 times in my life when I went to amusement parks more often than that. Wimp. Lol.

Ps. The coaster that goes down looks even scarier!

My biggest problem is they make me sick to my stomach. I love riding them, but often have to overcome 10-15 minutes of queasiness afterward.

Comment by Andhari

Despite having lived in NC all but my first two years of college, I have never been to Carowinds.

No backwards coasters? Next time you go up to VA hit up King’s Dominion and just look at Rebel Yell.

P. S. I hate Yuengling. Shit gets hot way too quickly.

Never been to Carowinds? Damn. And I thought it was bad that I lived here two years before going.

P.S. Yuengling is my favorite beer!

Comment by Kendall

I really like the one that’s your fave! It looks like something that would be used on a brochure or something…

I don’t ride backwards rollercoasters either…I like to see where I’m going. lol!

Thanks. Maybe I should send it to Carowinds and they’ll pay me for the photo! Ha. And backwards = vomit for me, which is why I highly avoid them.

Comment by Amber

i like the 3rd photo the most. it’s really balanced out well with both of the loops in the picture and you didn’t cut any of it off on the edge of the photo, which is hard to do, so kudos! if that darn tree weren’t in the first one, it would be better. trees suck sometimes.

i’m not a huge fan of rollercoasters, i think i’ve only been on 4 or 5 and one of those is the little one in the mall of america in minnesota. that one i can handle, haha

That tree totally ruined the photo. If it weren’t there, I’d like it so much more. Oh well. =/ Thanks for the comments though!

Comment by Lys

I really like the framing of the second photo. It flows so well!

You think? Awesome. Thanks!

Comment by E.P.

hm i’m not a professional but i do like taking pictures 🙂

the drop ride looks too scary for me! the rollercoasters too probably..

Aww. Try ’em out. They look scarier than they really are. And your photos look professional. Certainly could have fooled me.

Comment by floreta

Jealousssss! It has been *far* too long since I had my cookies threatened to be tossed by a roller coaster.

How far are you from King’s Dominion or Busch Gardens? We could all plan a day and drive up.

Comment by LiLu

What is this new roller coaster at Carowinds that goes backward and isn’t Thunder Road? Sounds like I need to make a trip. To check that out and the one in the picture above it. That one doesn’t look familiar either. Maybe a repaint?/rename?

Yep, brand new coaster. Can’t remember what it’s called though. And the blue one isn’t new. My boyfriend remembers it from like 10 years ago.

Comment by TOPolk

looks like funnn!!!!! 🙂

It very much was! AND it was freeeeee.

Comment by novelista barista

I love the one of the DropZone…???….the purple color is beautiful! 🙂

I wish I could’ve really gotten underneath the ride for the photo, but they have silly rules about standing on the other side of the fence. Psh.

P.S. 1,000th comment!! Yay!

Comment by Felicia

I am so glad that you love beer! That means we could totally be friends in a life outside of blogland!

I most certainly think we could be … if we didn’t live hundreds of miles apart, ha.

Comment by hautepocket

mmMMMmMm beer!

My thoughts exactly.

Comment by Cee




Leave a Reply

