A MinD in MoTown


Time flies when you’re … blogging.
April 8, 2009, 3:13 pm
Filed under: Yet another girl in the blogosphere

cupcakeHappy Blogoversary to me!

Happy Blogoversary to me!

Happy Blogoversary to meeeeeee eeeeee!!!!

Happy Blogoversary to me!

That’s right folks, yours truly created A MinD in MoTown one year ago this very day and those 12 months have flown by quicker than I could have imagined. I remember staring at the WordPress screen this time last year without any idea whatsoever what words might come, what thoughts may erupt, what my blog would turn into. It’s somewhat bizarre to look back at those first posts where I struggled to have some semblance of an identity for my blog in comparison to the material I share now. I’ve obviously grown a bit as a writer and I’ve definitely narrowed my focus somewhat to issues I find important (rather than discussing Jolly Ranchers – what was I thinking!?).

I might be the girl who talks an awful lot about the news industry, and maybe I’m the straight one constantly touting the importance and equality of gay marriage, but I like to think of myself as the blogger who takes an issue and spills her guts about it.

But no matter what way you spin it, this blog probably would have died if not for some very loyal readers out there in the blogosphere. Somehow in the last year, several absolutely fabulous people* showed an interest in my blog and kept me motivated through their comments and emails to write as often as I could, even if that’s not every single day. I may write for myself above all else, but I think this venue stays alive because of you guys. THANKS A MILLION!

I hope that this blogoversary is just the first of many and that there’s a strong future out there for me in this blogging world, or at least in the writing industry. I began this forum with the idea of using it solely to jumpstart a columnist career. Today, however, it’s my “dorky” escape – the number of times my boyfriend has called me a nerd, geek, etc. because of this blog and my Twitter account is likely innumerable –  and a great place for me to share some of the thoughts swirling in my mind, no matter how big or how small. Plus, I might’ve picked up a few wonderful bloggy friends* along the way as well, and there’s not a damn thing wrong with that.

So thanks everyone for helping me reach the one-year mark. And to any new readers who might be out there, stick around for the ride and maybe you can help me get to 2010!

* I’d name you all, but my fears of leaving someone fairly vital out are preventing me from doing so. Hopefully each of you know who I’m talking about anyway!

15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Awww. Happy B-day. 😉

Thank you muchly!!!!

Comment by Akirah

Happy day, lady!

Thanks hun! =)

Comment by E.P.

congratulations mindy, i hope you stick around for another year 🙂

Thank you. I hope so, too!

Comment by cello85

1 year down and many more blog posts to go!

::Fingers crossed::

Comment by phampants

Yay MinD! Congrats, of course I remember reading your posts long before wordpress was invented, but a solid year here is still worth celebrating! If I recall correctly I created my first blog about 12 hours before you =P

Honestly though if you weren’t out there posting I wouldn’t be able to keep in touch with you. I can’t even think about the last time I’ve IMed you, or even seen you online haha. Yet I can still put you in the top handful of friends I have. Keep going MinD!

Are you sure you made your LJ before me? Wasn’t it 12 hours after me? I really can’t remember, ha, but you’re probably right. And you have a good point: Without these blogs, we probably wouldn’t keep in touch as well. I avoid AIM pretty often, and I avoid my computer nearly entirely when I’m out of work, so I’m glad these things keep us together. Awwww.

Comment by Patrick

Happy blogoversary!

I’m also glad to know I’m not the only one who gets made fun of for blogging and tweeting.

Thanks, and you definitely aren’t the only one. I get it ALL THE TIME! Even from the boyfriend’s friends occasionally.

Comment by Megkathleen

happy blogpversary!! i’m so glad i have discovered your blog. you are an awesome writer.

Aww, that was sweet of you. Thanks hun!

Comment by thatShortChick

Yay!! Happy Anniversary!! That cupcake looks so good. I hope you celebrated with something like that.

It does look yummy. I had a mudslide at dinner last night. Does that count?

Comment by Ashley

Happy blogoversary 🙂

Thanks!!

Comment by andhari

Happy B-Day!

Thank you, Matt!

Comment by Matt

I hope you “keep on keepin on.” 😛

Haha, nicely said. Thanks!

Comment by omegaradium

Here’s to the next year!

Why thank you!

Comment by Perpetual

Happy Blogiversary!

Why thank you!

Comment by Cee

Yeah for Blogoversaries. As someone who just found your blog I hope it continues for another year.

Well thanks hun. I appreciate that!

Comment by John

Happy Blogoversary!

But can i have the cupcake? It looks so good!!!

If you find a cupcake like that, please send one my way!

Comment by Valérie




Leave a Reply

