A MinD in MoTown


If you’re Irish and you know it, clap your hands.
March 17, 2009, 3:53 pm
Filed under: Kiss Me I'm Irish, The world revolves around me

kiss-meUnless you’ve been living under a rock – and if you have Internet access, I assume not – you’re quite aware of the festivities that this beautiful holiday brings. Green beer and debauchery seem to sit perfectly hand in hand with St. Patrick’s Day, a celebration of all things Irish and an excuse for many – not myself, however, as I’m legitimately of Irish descent – to pretend their family tree has a branch or two stemming from the best heritage known to mankind.

I’ve attended quite a few St. Patty’s celebrations in my day – that makes me sound old, but I’m not, I swear – and although 2009 brings a tamer year than the last several, I’m hoping to make the best of it. After all, I am rocking a brand new holiday tee* in addition to green shoes. Clearly I’m perfectly equipped for this evening’s festivities.

The Irish tee I'm rocking today.
The Irish tee I’m rocking today.

I might’ve missed the fourth largest St. Patty’s parade in the country this past Saturday in Scranton – held annually and a pretty big deal – as well as Penn State’s version, “State Patty’s Day” – born out of the a Nittany Lion desire to celebrate despite missing the holiday each year due to Spring Break – but I’m hoping to make up for that this evening.

So drink a pint of Guinness whether you are Irish or not, wear your classiest green tee and have a great St. Patty’s Day everyone!

* I have a slight addiction to Irish attire. Last year I bought three tee-shirts and this year I bought another to add to my already abundant collection that includes at least one hoodie and the glittery, camoflauge pair of Roos adorning my feet this moment.

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It will take me about an hour to drink that guiness

An hour until you drink it, or an hour to drink it? ::Confused::

Comment by rs27

The only comment I can make is about the size of your knockers: Holy crap woman, how do you not fall over?

Hahaha. I was half-hoping nobody would notice! But it’s not easy at all. Trust me!

Comment by Alianna

I’m such a bad Irish person, because I cannot choke down Guinness. I actually have heard of the Scranton celebration from The Office-related sources.

I don’t watch The Office. Was it on the show? It is a HUGE deal to Scrantonians.

Comment by Ashley

… you don’t say! (That bottle of wine is for real… drinking it tonight)

I want a bottle of smiley face wine. I think there’s a Trader Joes in Charlotte…hm.

Comment by [F]oxymoron

Despite the fact that I’m quite obviously not Irish, I did show my St. Paddy’s spirit by dying my hair green.

Sorry, I’m partial to Italians myself. ; )

And as soon as my neighbour gets ready, we intend to head out for a night of debauchery at O’Malley’s downtown.

Have fun darlin’.

I’m just as much Italian as I am Irish – 25% of each (with another 1/4 Polish and 1/4 German, ha). Hope you had a great night!

Comment by Kendall

Last year, I bought myself a pair of mens boxers 😛 to use them as pajamas, and they’re green and have shamrocks and say: Kiss me, I’m not Irish 😛

Niiiiice. I have PJ pants from Old Navy, too. I think they’re mens actually…

Comment by Thrice

I cant believe i drink beer for this day. I”]m usually never into that. I found myself a fruity ones though, I hope that counts? pure beer made me gag 😦

I hear Leinies (sunset wheat) tastes like Fruity Pebbles. I don’t care for it – but I am a beer drinker – though you might like it.

Comment by andhari

Somehow I felt the need for irish knee socks this year. I never did find them though. I’ll have to start my search earlier next year.

Comment by Dutchess of Kickball

Ha, since I turned 21 I have yet to travel the 10 blocks into downtown Scranton for parade day. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great time, I just don’t do well with that many drunk people stumbling/drooling all around. I was surprised when you said you didn’t make it though. Oh and the one person who left the comment who prefers Italians…great choice! You should come to L’festa Italiana…(sp? Mind)

And lay off her knockers :-p

Ah, La Festa… I miss that even more than Parade Day. =( Oh well. And don’t yell at people at my blog for comment on my “knockers.” Not nice.

Comment by Jonathan

Nice rack!

Thanks…?

Comment by Matt

Holy boobs much?! (Mine are jealous.)

If you had them, you’d realize it’s totally nothing to be jealous about, ha. They are too damn heavy!!

Comment by hautepocket




Leave a Reply

