A MinD in MoTown


Please excuse me as I rant…
January 14, 2009, 3:36 pm
Filed under: Argh, Such a quandry

For three days, I’ve been working on one blog post. That’s right, ONE. And no matter how many times I edit, add or completely rewrite it, I can’t seem to convey my original intent for the post.

And it’s mostly frustrating because I’ve had several other ideas since, but my stubborn nature is keeping me from moving to the next topic before adequately finishing and publishing this one. Although I should, clearly, scrap the subject and simply forget my feeble attempts, I just can’t seem to do so.

So folks, what should I do? What would you do? Post something considerably sub par, or toss it to the side and attempt a more feasible topic?

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

dude I have like 20 drafts…tell me about it.

Ugh. How do you deal with so many!?

Comment by Matt

After three days, I would completely give up.

I’m leaning that way, although I really wanted to comment on this particular topic.

Comment by Dutchess of Kickball

Don’t give up. Ever!
Have you tried the “Set It Aside For A Day Or Night And Then Return To It” approach? If you have, and still aren’t content with it, then I vote post it as-is, sub par or not.

I have attempted that for three consecutive nights. I even revisited the post yet again today, and still can’t seem to tie up the loose ends.

Comment by Tristan | the almost right word

My blog is sub par every day so I have no advice for you.

Your blog is never sub par… Psh. (If you were fishing for a compliment, you win.)

Comment by rs27

If it’s something you really want to post, then I’d just post what you have. If you don’t feel so inclined, then I’d probably give up or just save it as a draft to return to later (or delete later).

It’s definitely a topic worth posting … if I could pull it together without hating the whole thing.

Comment by Ashley

Considering I have about as many drafts pending as Matt does, some of which have which have been in the works since last month, I say just put it to the side right now and work as you go.

Thanks. I just might be leaning that way…

Comment by Kendall

I have about 5 or 6 different drafts, and currently have 1 post that is scheduled to be posted in about a year.

I usually create a new draft when I have an idea about something, but just cant quite do the subject matter justice at the time.

In a year!? I don’t think three days ahead, let alone 365. Crazy.

Comment by omegaradium

What’s the fear in posting what you consider a “sub-par” blog…afraid we’ll cancel our subscription and demand refunds?

Pretty much.

Comment by jbanc

Seriously, just write. I find that sometimes it helps me to go back and read previous posts, as they sometimes give me ideas on stuff I perhaps left unsaid. But really, everything you write is never going to be perfect, so just put it out there 🙂

Very good point. This topic is just so…different…for me, that I want to fully explain how I feel about it before posting.

Comment by highheelgal

Welcome to my life.

This happens to me all. the. time.

Sometimes you’ve just gotta scrap it and move on, painful as it is. I’m a perfectionist, too, and I don’t think there’s anything wrong with it. 🙂

It’s happened to me in the past, but I was always easily able to scrap the idea. This one just irked me so badly that I couldn’t let it go.

Comment by Laurie | Your Ill-fitting Overcoat

p.s. Sometimes, if I’m really stuck, it helps me to start over from scratch. I don’t delete the first draft, and I usually end up copy and pasting huge chunks from it, but sometimes it really helps to just start over. Something as simple as ditching that intro that I thought was SO clever can totally revitalize the whole thing.

I’ve heard writers call it “killing your darlings” and oof– it’s painful!

I definitely heard the phrase before, but didn’t know what it meant. Now I know! Thanks!

Comment by Laurie | Your Ill-fitting Overcoat




Leave a Reply

