A MinD in MoTown


Hm, hello there!
December 31, 2008, 3:45 pm
Filed under: I am getting old..., The world revolves around me, When I grow up

(Before I begin, I’d like to say I stole this idea of a letter to myself one year ago from Kendall, who has been a great friend this whole week and in return, I take his thunder. I’m sorry darlin’!)

Dear MinD, circa 2007:

Before anything else, I’d like to say how proud of you I am. You’ve been 500+ miles away from every family member and close friend for more than half of the year and you’ve done wonders. You have grown so much, became increasingly independent and, by now, I hope you have realized – and I believe you have – how sturdy the foundation is that you have created for yourself. It’ll truly get you through the next year.

Your step-father is doing so much better after his accident around Thanksgiving, and one year later, he’s back to the same guy you’ve always known. Congrats, by the way, on an amazing turkey that holiday. You and others will be talking about it for months to come.

I know Christmas was difficult. First one away from Scranton, and with no family, no kielbasa, no poppyseed stolen! You made it through though, and you truly made the best out of a fairly crappy situation. No worries, however … northeastern Pennsylvania will welcome you home with open arms in time for Santa next year.

Onto more important things… If you only knew what the next year would have in store for you, you’d likely faint with shock. It’s been quite the whirlwind, to say the least, with several changes – some overdue, some you weren’t ready for, and one that even one year later, you still aren’t sure you can handle (her name is Sophie, and no, she’s not a child, but she can be a serious pain in the ASS!).

You know those plans you have to celebrate NYE tonight? Heading to a friend’s house to ring in 2008… Well, that guy becomes your boyfriend (and you’ll ring in 2009 with him, too). Yep, that’s right. The three-year relationship you’re currently in will end and you’ll be forced to grow up quickly as you live 100% on your own.

After a little doubt in the spring, and some major fears that you’ll be homeless or worse – back in Scranton without the means to support yourself – the pieces will come together. You’ll begin to pay every single bill by yourself and eventually, you’ll start managing your finances so closely it’s as if you’re an accountant. Quite the change, that’s for sure, but you’ll figure it out with time. And, sorry to say, even with 2009 knocking at the door, you just might be having a few lingering issues with curbing your spending habits. You should probably cut up those little plastic cards now … but I know you too well and that’s clearly not happening any time soon.

I’m sure this comes as no surprise, but you’re working the same two jobs all year through. More bills sadly equals more work, which can be frustrating. And due to the economy – to say it goes “way downhill” is quite the understatement – you’re looking at remaining with the same newspaper and restaurant through 2009 as well. Suck it up. It’ll be a long ride in MoTown. But I’m thinking you’re starting to love this place just a wee bit.

I wish I could sum up into words my best advice for you in the year ahead, but I’m not sure I can.

You’re still attempting to be logical, but letting your heart guide you. You’re still trying to grow up, yet fighting it at the same time. And you’re diligently working toward being taken seriously, but making just as many silly faces as ever at coworkers, friends, and whoever else meanders by.

2008 has a lot in store for you, but I know you’ll make it through. It’ll take a few lot of tears, plenty more curse words, beaucoup bucks, and enough stress to where you should likely purchase some stock in Excedrin, but you’re strong and intelligent and I have all the confidence you’ll be right where you need to be when the ball drops at the end of the year.

After all, “There’s nowhere you can be that isn’t where you’re meant to be.” (Those words will stay with you forever…)

With love and luck,
MinD, circa 2008

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

To the Mindy of one year ago,

You may not know me yet but take this to heart. One of my best decisions of 2008 was to start blogging as it has allowed me to become friends with fascinating, witty, and truly kind people from around the world. Yourself included. You may not like grits, and you may be a Dallas Cowboys fan but that’s OK. We all have our faults. Thanks for being a great friend.

– Kendall

Aww! Thanks. =) I actually started my blog in 2008, too, but definitely did not think of that for my letter. Oops.

Comment by Kendall

Hang in there….many years ago I was starting out in what was then thought of as a crappy economy. Your spending habits will eventually meet the rise in your salary in the middle…

Rise in my salary? Haha. I got an entire quarter more per hour this year than last. That’s a whole $520 all year before taxes. I don’t know if my spending habits and salary will ever meet! At least not at this rate…

Comment by jbanc

I started right out of college about 100 years ago at CNN for $3.10 an hour…..minimum wage. I know it seems like it’ll never happen….but one day your check(s) will actually meet your bills. One day you’ll think about dropping the second job. Hang in there…it’ll happen.

Minimum wage doesn’t sound too fun, but CNN? At least that’s a great platform to begin with. I’m hanging in there. It’ll take a LONG time, I’m sure, but…well, I can’t do much else but wait.

Comment by jbanc

I’m loving this idea! There are so many things I know now that the EP of 2007 (oooooh, or 2006) would be happy to know about.

I hope 2009 is a good year for you and that it started off wonderfully!

It started horribly! Ha. 2009 is not looking good thus far, but – if I’m feeling optimistic – things can only get better.

Comment by E.P.

This may be my favorite post of yours yet. 🙂 Happy New Year girlie, hang in there.

Aw, thanks! It seems I get more of a reaction to personal-ish posts than the ones where I rant about the news industry/Scranton/etc. Perhaps a transition of sorts is in order? Happy 2009 to you, too!

Comment by hautepocket

Happy New year! I love the snow on your site!! 😉

Thanks hun! I think the snow will be disappearing very soon, sadly, if it hasn’t already. It was a temporary WordPress feature.

Comment by the almost right word




Leave a Reply

