A MinD in MoTown


I’m feeling kind of … MONDAY!
December 9, 2008, 1:15 pm
Filed under: Are you ready for some football?, Just whatever

As a friend so beautifully put it, “It’s like never doing a drug and going right for heroin.”

Last night was not only my first Monday Night Football game, but my first NFL experience, and it was ahhh-maze-ing (that’s my feeble attempt at blog-enunciating “amazing” with enthusiasm)!!

I’d promise multiple photos of my night, but I know me better than that and considering I snapped last night’s madness on the same digital camera still holding photos from my August beach trip, I probably wouldn’t fulfill that promise for months to come. But, I was decked out in some borrowed Carolina Panthers gear, waiting to see their clash for the number one slot in NFC South, and looking like a pretty damn adorable fan if I say so myself.

Via the cellular device. Yes, I make this face all the time.

Via the cellular device. Yes, I make this face all the time.

Despite bundling up – I’m talking two pairs of socks (including toe socks that went up to my knees), a pair of shorts under my jeans, four shirts (tank, long-sleeve thermal, hoodie, jersey), the hat, gloves and a scarf – I was cold for the entire evening, but whenever big plays occurred and the fans jumped to their feet, banging the seats as the Panthers tried to shut down the Tampa Bay offense, I’d warm up for about two minutes. Ha. The boyfriend would grab me and hold me when I began to visibly shiver, but otherwise, I was left to my own devices of dancing stupidly and doing cardio exercises to keep as toasty as possible.

Regardless of the weather – which, hello, I’m from Pennsylvania and should have been able to handle – it was a spectacular experience, from the tailgating – oh, and they do it big with chicken kabobs, steak, ribs, the works! – to the “LET’S GO PANTHERS” as we walked into the stadium and the high fives to people we’ll never see again. I’ve always loved football, and this game – even if it wasn’t my team, which yes, is the Dallas Cowboys – was fabulous!

I wasn’t a diehard Penn State fan until my ass was planted in one of the many college football epicenters. The environment was intoxicating and I couldn’t help but completely fall in love with Nittany Lions football. I may not be a Panthers fan, yet – the boyfriend is pretty damn determined to convert me – but damn do I love the NFL and MNF.

Our view from our seats, you know, next to God.

Our view from our seats, you know, next to God.

And although I’m currently sitting at work with only six hours of sleep under my belt – and only three hours from Sunday into Monday – I’m still high from the adrenaline rush of watching the Panthers kill the Buccaneers 38-23 last night. Carolina winning definitely topped off the night in the proper fashion.

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

They had a good game last night…I will give them that.

but it is ON sunday.

no holds barred.

Carolina is going down.

You heard it here first.

Comment by Matt

Matt: Dude, my friends – the crazy Panther fanatics who say they have “Panthertude” instead of attitude – aren’t even worried about Denver. And I trust their confidence. I guess we’ll see how it plays out. =P

Comment by amindinmotown

It sounds like a bet is in order.

Comment by Matt

Matt: What do you have in mind? I don’t bet cash. I like my money too much to even think about risking losing it, ha.

Comment by amindinmotown

man, i didn’t get to go to any Giants’ games this year. But i seem to have been a curse over the last decade, so I’m gonna take full credit for the season (sans gunshot wounds)

Comment by wishmewell

Wishmewell: If I had to choose a “near to home” team to root for, it’d be the Giants, so when they played Philly on Sunday, I was definitely hoping they’d do well, even without the idiot who shot himself (I mean, seriously, who does that?!) I’ve been outside the Giants stadium and in the practice bubble for a concert before – Bamboozle 2oo7 – but that’s the closet I’ve been before last night to the NFL.

Comment by amindinmotown

Nothing like Penn State football to give you the football bug, huh?

Comment by stealthnerd

How fun! I’ve never been to a NFL game, let alone a Monday night one, but that looks awesome! And you? Totally cute (and prepared) despite the cold. I would have whined the entire time because I would have frozen…

Comment by stylishhandwriting

How about, loser (you) has to post

“Mr5280 is the greatest blogger of all time. Girls want to be with him, men want to be him”

at the end of your first post following the game. In bold letters, all by itself so everyone can see.

Comment by Matt

And you can pick a phrase for me to type…

just in case the panthers actually do win.

Comment by Matt

Nerd: Isn’t that the damn truth.

Stylish: Aw, thanks! =) I tried to not whine – and ruin the boyfriend’s time – but it was tough!

Matt: Um, let me think about this. Ha.

Comment by amindinmotown

There will be no “broncos got their ass beath by the panthers post”

there could have been…but someone was chicken.

Comment by Matt

Matt: Blah blah blah… That’s all I hear.

Comment by amindinmotown

Cute! I’m so jealous of your virgin professional football experience, because I’ve yet to attend a live game! Glad you had a good time, I bet that it WAS AH-MAZE-ING. 🙂

And it will be, too, when you go. I promise!

Comment by hautepocket




Leave a Reply

