A MinD in MoTown


I love gay people, and Connecticut does, too!
October 10, 2008, 2:04 pm
Filed under: All you need is love, News Girl

Connecticut has officially become the third state to rule that homosexual couples have the right to marry, and I, for one, could not be more thrilled to hear read that. Here’s the full Associated Press article on the breaking news: “Conn. high court rules gay couples can marry.”

And if you’ve been to my corner of the Internet before – i.e. One ticket to hell, please. – then you can imagine my excitement at reading that a state stereotypically known as one filled with rich, white Americans can move in this progressive direction. I think this is a monumental step, one that needs to be recognized especially by those in support of California’s Proposition 8.

If a state like Connecticut chooses – albeit, in a 4-3 vote, but it passed, nonetheless – to recognize gay marriage, it seems highly unlikely that California, of all places, will veto their decision. Hell, it’s only a matter of time before more states jump on the bandwagon and civil unions/gay marriage become the norm … and it’ll be about damn time when that does occur.

Just had to pass along the word, folks. Have a happy Friday! (And if you have a three-day weekend … I hate you.)

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Go Connecticut!!

Comment by jenn

Congratulations Connecticut! My roommate actually heard me cheering when I first read about this.

Aww you hate me? I’m crushed. Really. No really, I am.

Comment by Kendall

Boo everyone with three day weekends! (And boo Penn State, too. :)) But uh, go Connecticut!

Comment by hautepocket

Yeah, you would think Cali would be on board with this already

Comment by Matt

Jenn: Hear hear! (I could not think of anything else, ha.)

Kendall: Yes, hate you. Go to school, damn it. It’s only Columbus Day.

Haute: Boo PSU? What!?!? Blasphemy.

Matt: Well, technically, aren’t they on board? Just trying to veto their most recent decision to allow it?

Comment by amindinmotown

Another reason I love California. I’m voting no of Prob 8

Comment by nyag

Study for midterms or go to an empty class? Yeah, real difficult decision there. I’m not used to having free time on Monday so this is weird.

So I suppose it would be a bad idea to tell you I have tomorrow off from class (only Bio lab)as well? ::smiles::

Comment by Kendall

NYAG: Good! I can’t vote (not living in Cali and all), so do it for me, too.

Kendall: I never have free time… And yes, still hate you. I have a LONG, LONG day Tuesday. Boo.

Comment by amindinmotown

If it makes you feel better (read: less hateful towards me), I am working a 12 hour shift tomorrow. Then back to studying.

Comment by Kendall




Leave a Reply

