A MinD in MoTown


Thou shall not ruin my sex life.
September 16, 2008, 6:42 pm
Filed under: Argh, The Woes of Work

For the last few moments, I was staring at the computer screen, fairly uncertain of what I wanted to write … and then a small child’s head popped up from behind my computer screen, smiling and holding a small blue doll that may or may not have been a strange looking miniature Cabbage Patch Doll.

I work in a generally lax environment. I wear jeans on a regular – nearly daily – basis, and today, I’m even rocking a glittered green camoflauge pair of Roos (you know, the sneakers with pockets on the side that were way awesome in the ’80s).

And yes, there have been a few occasions where I’ve snuck my dog through the back door and allowed her to run around the office as I finished up some work at 7 p.m. on a Wednesday night, but she rarely pees on the carpet – only once that I can count – and aside from a small mishap of jumping on top of my desk and sliding off, riding my desk calendar all the way to the floor, she causes little trouble.

But small children? They not only have the quick-moving legs and high energy that my puppy also shares, running around the office as if it’s a marathon for those under 3-feet tall, but they have the ability to talk and annoy … and I’m saying all of this as an adorable, but way too energetic four-year-old races back and forth through the newsroom desks on a rolling chair, yelling “weeeeeee” the entire time.

Wee-girl is the product of an advertising agent who is currently in the room next door, undoubtedly with her 8-month-old infant sitting in her lap, cooing and drooling, still unable to gallivant through the office while her older sister glides her way from one end to the other with little to no disregard for my blogging working. (…Wee-girl just ambushed another chair and knocked it over, then gave me a look of death when I said, “you gotta pick up the chair.”)

Okay, perhaps I’m not actually doing anything work-worthy, but they don’t know that. They have no clue that as I sit here, quickly typing away, I’m ranting about their small children (Did I mention the infant just began to cry? ‘Cause she did…loudly.) and how the sounds pierce my eardrums and send me into a downward spiral, swearing I’ll never, ever miss a birth control pill or subject others – especially at work – to my spawn once I hit 35 and the internal clock I’m clearly not yet in tune with begins to die a little and some poor soul emerges from my loins.

…Argh, way too much information, I’m sure – so my apologies to those still reading.

It’s not as though I don’t want to see how adorable Wee-girl’s new haircut is or the new tooth poking its way through your infant’s cotton-candy colored gums; it’s just, I’m only 23 and the idea of children still terrifies me inside, so when the products of your hot and heavy evenings at home with the hubby begin disrupting my blogging work, I tend to clench my jaw a little, force a smile, ignore your children and squeeze my thighs together as tightly as possible, vowing to never have sex again.

And damn it, I really do like sex. So please, please, keep the youngin’s away or else – and forgive me for saying this – I might have to sacrifice them to some god I’m not yet aware of just so I can get it on at night without the worries of producing yet another child that will inevitably disturb my blogging work.

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ew. Co-workers children are the worst. I fully identify with the last paragraph of this post. Too funny. 🙂

Comment by hautepocket

If I had to work with that I’d die, and I love love love kids. But that would drive me bonkers.

Comment by Megkathleen

I’m jealous of the jeans at work. We can on Fridays but that was a huge production to have that go through.

Comment by Jessica

Haute: I’m lucky to not have killed a small child yesterday. No lie.

Meg: I love kids, too! I even have a four-year-old sister of my own, but days like yesterday make me grateful she’s about 500 miles away.

Jessica: When I started here, I was never told jeans were “acceptable,” but when I began wearing them without getting yelled at, ha, I started making them everyday attire.

Comment by amindinmotown

The problem with kids is the talking. If they didn’t talk they would be cool.

Comment by rs27

Haha, I can’t say I’ve experienced that in an office setting, but I imagine it would be a pretty funny situation. My sister has 2 young boys who I LOVE but every time I leave the house to go back to my empty nest, I thank the lord I don’t have kids!

Comment by Amy

You should have punched that little girl and told her to shut up.

Kid or no kid.

Comment by Matt

rs27: A bunch of mute kids running around would, however, lead to mute adults… And that’d be a crazy ass world, mister.

Amy: Funny, yes, but too annoying to actually produce laughter… =/

Matt: Oh, so we advocate hitting children now? Maybe you should tell Fragrance Girl about this before things go too far. =P

Comment by amindinmotown

My bosses baby peed on me. Top that.

Comment by Stealthnerd

Umm, I totally feel ya on this one. Little kids are the best kind of birth control. And one of my co-workers likes to bring her teenage children to work, then corners unsuspecting people and forces them to chat it up with her kids. Awkward.

Comment by stylishhandwriting

Nerd: You win.

Stylish: Maybe not the BEST birth control, but damn near close! Ha.

Comment by amindinmotown

I do adoptions at a local PetSmart a couple of Saturdays a month (volunteer-NOT paid). Best.Birth Control.Ever.

Comment by Live For Today




Leave a Reply

